Exercise 3.4 Documenting Change

“…Make a sequence of photographs that shows the same subject, from the same position, but in different states… Produce at least three images in a sequence – a triptych – that shows the three states of the subject and communicates the change you’ve identified.”

Maybe it was the mention of different states, maybe it was the idea that I could control a small easily accessible environment, maybe it was a wish to do this without excessive travel, but for some reason I immediately thought of doing something with water and ice. But I knew that my theory  would be to do something rather domestic to Andy Goldsworthy’s natural/ wilderness sculptures. How could I sculpt in a domestic way something that would change (to satisfy the exercise) but would also have that Goldsworthy naturalness – so I made ice-lollies.

Goldsworthy is rather amazing, and must have the patience of a saint – the carefully constructed piles of rock, delicately torn leaves, woven twigs, must hide a series of ‘for f**k sake’ moments as the pile falls, the leaves blow away and the twigs snaps. I simply couldn’t do it – I would  be beating the rocks with the sticks and biting the leaves. The photographs of his work are hugely important as for much of the work they are the only lasting evidence. So it was with this lasting evidence in mind, but also the knowledge that any form of intricate/ delicate construction would probably end up with me kicking the dog, that I started making ice-lollies. I coloured 2 blue, 2 green and placed them in a circle the way Goldsworthy would do if he had no patience, lived in the city and didn’t fancy travelling.

These images are rather basic, but do give some indication of the sun moving in the sky as the shadows change, plus the ice melts in a rather steady stream. I had hoped for greater pools of colour, but I might have been too stingy with the food colouring. I put the initial set up image there simply because the exercise said to show 3 states, but I am pretty certain everyone would have guessed how I made these. The ice crystallised nicely, and would have been better against maybe a plainer background – but I just did it outside in the back garden and re-visited every hour – but if I were to do it again then maybe a plainer background to bring out the ice shards might have been better.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

